My first conference: GUADEC 2023

My first conference: GUADEC 2023


In this blog, I'll be sharing my experience attending GUADEC 2023 in person held in Riga, Latvia from 26th July 2023 to 31st July 2023.


24th July 2023

Last month, when I woke up on this date, I was still unsure whether I'd be able to attend GUADEC in person because of the visa process, I was supposed to have my visa received on July 24th, but I wanted to attend GUADEC because it would be my first conference I'd ever attended. So I decided to go to my courier's office to pick up my visa, which was already at a local courier depot. When I opened it, I was overjoyed to see that my visa had been approved. Following this, I began contacting Melissa; she was so supportive that I received my flight tickets and accommodation details the same day, even though she was traveling herself. I flew from Pune to Delhi at midnight, then from Delhi to Helsinki and then from Helsinki to Riga. To be honest, I was also looking forward to the travel experience as well because it was my first international journey. I had a great time taking pictures on the way and arrived in Riga on the evening of July 25th. Melissa if you're reading this thank you again :)


25th July 2023:

So here I was, and I was still amazed that I had made it to GUADEC in such a short time. I was quite thrilled to learn and interact with the other folks here. I was astounded to see such a diverse group of people from various backgrounds coming together to share their knowledge and experience and collaborate. I also met my mentor the very same day I arrived and we discussed his workshop and other details regarding my project.


26th July 2023:

The very next day I attended different talks related to different technologies. There were 2 rooms for 2 different tracks: Dextrum and Magnum. You can find more details here.


27th July 2023:

On the third day, there was a talk about GNOME Javascript, which I was very interested in because it intersected with my interests. Evan Welsh, Philip Chimento, and my mentor Sonny Piers gave this talk, and I was astonished to see my, and Akshay's names on the slide where he presented our work. After the day was over I returned to our hotel in the evening.


28th July 2023:

This was the day that my teammate Akshay and I had to give our project presentation. The entire discussion can be found here. I was also curious about the other projects that the interns were working on, I talked about what their projects were about and tried to learn something from them.


29th July 2023:

Starting today, we had workshops on many different technologies where you could sit and learn while also discussing a certain topic/project.


30th July 2023:

This was the last day of the conference's workshops, and we had another trip scheduled for the next day. But first, we had a dinner reservation.


31st July 2023:

This day, we had a day trip to northern Latvia, where we would tour numerous historical sites before having lunch and returning to Riga in the evening.


After each day ended, I took some time off to explore the city as much as I could before returning to the hotel.


I was amazed to discover how interesting attending a conference could be, and it was a new experience that I loved. It resembled having a family experience away from home in several ways. I will always remember this, and I'm very grateful to GNOME for sponsoring my entire trip and allowing me to attend GUADEC in person. I was able to make a tonne of memories and learn a lot. I was also honored to be presenting my work in front of all the experienced professionals. Looking forward to attending more conferences in the future.


Did you find this article valuable?

Support Sriyansh Shivam by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!